After vacillating between towns, houses, condos, trailers, etc., I’ve sealed the deal on my next home. Come September I’ll be renting a two bedroom apartment high up in one of two massive towers. The process was pretty much like buying the house on Trinity 20 years ago. It was the first place I looked at, followed by a lot of others, and then, an eventual return and purchase. Now, the same thing with a lease. You’d think I’d learn. Ultimately, I decided that for the time being at least, it makes the most sense for me to stay accessible to Toronto, so this does the trick quite nicely. I’m 10-15 minutes further out from everything I’ve been doing and that’s close enough not to have to give anything up. Transit is also relatively accessible, so that’s a plus.Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 7.46.04 PM

The space works. I’d actually signed a lease on a different unit, but when this one came up on a sublease, it was simply the better choice. South facing, bright, white and spotless, it’s particularly well suited to a live/work arrangement. At 1295 square feet it’s larger than the house, with seven closets, compared to the two I had in the house. 1 1/2 washrooms, oddly enough, right beside each other, with a sink in a walk-in closet (?) right next to them. That closet will make a good ad hoc darkroom for some film work I want to do. Central air conditioning, hydro included, locker and underground parking round out the deal. The only thing I would’ve liked was a balcony, but at this height I might have had to tether Bob and myself to the railing on windy days.

The second bedroom will make a perfect office, holding everything in one room rather than throughout the place, as it was here. No 6-foot printer in the dining room! There’s a walk-through to it from the living/dining area, so it’s easy to access, but not obtrusive. And at 20′ x 20′ the living room is spacious enough to use as a studio as well, if I decide to do that. There’s a dog park on the property as well. Great for Bob, though we’re close enough to continue going to the regular haunt at Cherry Beach. Indoor pool and BBQ’s out back, both of which I’ll be using, I’m sure.

I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to find a space that would be well suited to what I want to do for the next few years, that would be bright, clean and spacious, and that would at the very least match what I had in the house as far as comfort and quality was concerned. Over my life I’ve roomed/boarded, lived in flats, brownstone walkups, low-rises and a house, and now, up in the clouds. I’m looking forward to something new.